All the Big W Gluten Free Lollies

All the Big W Gluten Free Lollies

Now that kids are back at school that means birthday parties and where better to stock up on gluten free lollies than mega store Big W? The store has a wide range of familiar favourites as well as little-known or own brands.

Related content:

If you don’t have a Big W near you, you might want to check out my guide to Gluten Free Lollies at Kmart. You’d be amazed by their massive gluten free range.

Gluten free sweet treats like ice creams and icy poles or how about my guide to gluten free ice cream tubs.

Are GLUCOSE SYRUP AND DEXTROSE FROM WHEAT gluten free?

This question inevitably comes up in my gluten free shopping guides so I always make sure to include it.

Glucose syrup from wheat is gluten free – this is because glucose is a simple sugar while gluten is a complex protein. This is the case for dextrose too. You can read more about this on the Coeliac Australia website.

If you don’t feel like reading the short of it is, Coeliac Australia says there is negligible risk from wheat glucose syrup as 90% contain no gluten and the remaining 10% contain incredibly small levels (less than 10ppm, which is lower than the European gluten free standard of 20ppm).

How to use this guide

I’ve separated out lollies and chocolates into two different sections. I wasn’t planning to include chocolate in this guide, but Big W is actually a great stockist for the dairy free brand NOMO. So we definitely need to shout about that!

I’ve listed brands alphabetically in each category to make it a bit easier to find your favourite. If you’re having trouble try using the search function on your browser to find what you are looking for.

If an item is dairy free, vegan or contains gelatine I’ll do my best to point it out. I want this list to be useful to as many people as possible. If you’ve got any suggestions let me know in the comments!

Lollies

Allen’s

Sadly with a lot of factory changes in the last twelve months (from about mid 2022) a number of Allen’s lollies that used to be gluten free are not any more. This includes sherbies, minties, milkos and red rippers. Note: they are no longer gluten free due to a may contain warning.

There are a few items that are gluten free by ingredient though!

  • Chew Ems Gummi Koalas 170g
  • Sourz Party Animals Lollies 170g
  • Fantales Allergens: Milk, soy. May contain: Tree nuts.

Note: I’ve included a few other Allen’s products down in the chocolate section!

Chunky Funkeez

These guys make my current favourite lolly – sour watermelon slices. They are so satisfyingly sour and quite addictive. I’ve had to hide them in the cupboard because otherwise I grab one every time I walk through the kitchen.

  • Sour Cherry Bombs 160g
  • Watermelon Slices 170g
  • Strawberry Clouds 170g
  • Blueberry Clouds 170g
Packaging for blueberry and strawberry clouds available at Big W. Front of packet clearly states gluten free.
I don’t think these are sour, sadly.

Chupa Chups

It has to be said, the Chupa Chups website is brilliant – it has individual allergen listings for each flavour of lolly pop and their other lollies.

  • Chupa Chups The Best Of Lollipops 25 Pack 300g
  • Chupa Chups Faces Flat Lollipops 35 Pack 210g
  • Chupa Chups Crazy Dips Sour 12 Pack 108g

Fizzer

  • Fizzer Faves 8 pack 92g Allergens: Egg, soy.
  • Mini Fizzer Faves 266g Allergens: Egg, soy.

Double D

The front of the packet says gluten free so we are on to a winner! They are also sugar free, making them suitable for those watching their intake.

The full range appears to be gluten free, here’s what I’ve come across

  • Sugar Free Fruit Jellies 70g
  • Sugar Free Fruit Drops 70g
  • Sugar Free Butter Candy 70g
  • Sugar Free Clear Mint 70g

Fruit-tella

This brand is happily gelatine free! A somewhat rare sight in the gluten free world of lollies. These are tested gluten free, vegan and have no may contains so they are properly dairy free as well.

  • Sour Wrigglers 120g

Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly are a gluten free classic. In fact, all Jelly Belly jelly beans are OU Kosher, gluten-free, peanut-free, dairy-free, fat free and vegetarian friendly.

Here’s a list of what you can get in store at Big W, it’s a huge range.

  • Assorted flip top box 35g
  • Beanboozled 45g
  • 20 flavours bag 70g
  • Donut Shoppe 70g
  • Cotton Candy bag 70g
  • Ice cream mix 70g
  • Beanboozled Box 100g
  • 20 flavours multipack (with mini bags) 200g
  • 50 flavours gift box 600g

Did you know Jelly Belly also make the Harry Potter inspired range of Bertie Bots jelly beans?

  • Bertie Bots Beans 35g and 54g

Lolliland

  • Lolliland Convo Hearts Multipack 10 x 25g
  • Sour cubes, watermelon flavour 160g
  • Kaboom sherbert lollypops 140g
  • Mermaid Wand Sticks 6 Pack
  • Mermaid Tail Pops 6 Pack 120g
  • Mermaid Pearls 180g
  • Pinata mix 1.5kg
  • Fairy floss tub 60g

Mentos

The Big W website is pretty poor these days when it comes to photos of the back of the packaging or including allergen information. So, I went straight to the source and checked out the Australian Mentos website. Happily they state the following

“all flavours of Mentos Candies and Gum do not contain gluten, excluding Spearmint Gum and Mentos Choco.”

Great news! Here are the gluten free Mentos lollies you will find at Big W.

  • Rainbow roll 37.5g
  • Mini Rainbow Rolls 12 piece bag 120g
  • Fruit, roll 37.5g or bag 405g
  • Mint, roll 37.5g or bag 405g
  • Mentos / Chupa Chup mix of minis bag 40 pack

Miscellaneous

The Natural Confectionary Co.

A lot of Natural Confectionary Co. lollies had been off limits due to wheat starch. They were also quite confusing, having listed wheat in glucose syrup which isn’t necessary. Happily they’ve updated this for some products and it is now much more clear.

  • Fruit Salad soft jellies 220g
  • Smoothie Chews 180g
  • Fruity Chews 180g, 350g
Gluten free options by the Natural Confectionary Company

Nerds

  • Nerds Grape Strawberry 141g May contain: Egg.
  • Nerds Grape and Strawberry Multi Bag 340g May contain: Egg.
  • Rainbow Nerds 141g May contain: Egg.
  • Rainbow Rope Very Berry 26g May contain: Egg. Contains gelatine.
  • Gummy Clusters 85g Contains gelatine.

Pascall

  • Pascall Strawberry Sherbets 192g
  • Lemon Sherbets 192g
  • Pascall Pineapple Lumps 165g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanuts, tree nuts
  • Strawberry & Creme Choc Mallow Bites 150g
Every Lumps flavour I’ve seen has been gluten free.

Skittles

  • Skittles Funsize Lollies 12 Pieces 180g
  • Skittles Share Bag 200g, 380g Allergens: Soy.
  • Sour Skittles share bag 190g
  • Sour Giant Skittles 160g Allergens: Nil
  • Giant Skittles 160g Allergens: Nil
  • Slushie Skittles 180g Allergens: Soy.
  • Smoothie Skittles 190g Allergens: Soy.
Just a small selection of the many Skittles you’ll find.

Trolli

Trolli are a great brand for gluten free, however most items contain gelatine so they are not suitable for vegetarians.

  • Trolli Strawberry Clouds 150g
  • Trolli Watermelon Slices 1kg
  • Trolli Mini Gummi Burger 50g
  • Trolli Pizza XXL 9 Slices 45g
  • Trolli Mini Burger Bag 432g
  • Brite Crawlers, all sizes including the 625g bucket! May contain: Milk, soy.

Zappo

Zappo chews are of course grape but they also have strawberry. Both flavours are gluten free by ingredient and no may contain – however they do contain gelatine so they are not vegetarian.

  • Grape and Strawberry Zappo 4 pack 104g
  • Zappo 3 Flavour Multipack 130g

Wizz Fizz

The sherbert is gluten free, but unfortunately their other products are not – including the Easter eggs.

  • Wizz Fizz Original Sherbert 8 pack

Chocolates

Even though this is a gluten free lollies post for Big W I thought I’d be nice and include the GF chocolates too.

Allen’s

I never liked chocolate freckles as a kid, but I think I was having cheap knock off ones. Or maybe just the chocolate quality wasn’t as good back then? Either way, it’s an iconic chocolate and it’s great to see that it’s gluten free by ingredient.

  • Chocolate Freckles 340g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.

The raspberry chocolates are legit gluten free – nil detected on the back panel.

  • Allen’s Dark Choc Raspberries 120g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.
  • Allen’s Bites Mini Chocolate Raspberries 140g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.
  • White Choc Coated Raspberries 120g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.

Cadbury

Sadly most of the year-round Cadbury chocolate isn’t gluten free. However there is plenty during Easter time – check my guide now for what to buy.

  • Twirl 12 piece share pack 168g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.
  • Twirl Bites 140g and 500g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.
  • Caramilk Twirl Bites 130g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.
  • Cadbury Flake 12 Piece Share Pack 168g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.
  • Cadbury Curly Wurly Squirlies 110g Allergens: Milk, Wheat* glucose syrup (so it’s fine!)

If you’re wondering why Caramilk isn’t here it’s because in 2022 the allergens changed. There is now a may contain warning for wheat.

Health Lab

Health Lab make some delicious gluten free, dairy free*, vegan items! I have always been a bit hesitant given the high price, but after eating a lamington ball made by them. Well, I am convinced.

As well as the snack balls (which I’m not listing here, they aren’t straight up chocolate) Big W stocks some of their chocolates which happen to be gluten free.

  • Mylk Bar mixed Kwalas 96g May contain: Peanut, tree nuts, milk, soy, sesame, egg, lupin, sulphites.
  • Mylk Bar Mylk Choc Zillions 100g (like choc freckles) May contain: Peanut, tree nuts, milk, soy, sesame, egg, lupin, sulphites.
  • Mr Big Caramel Mylk chocolate bars 160g
  • Samantha’s Cherry Mylk Chocolate Bars 160g (just like a Cherry Ripe)

Kinder

  • Kinder Chocolate 21g, 50g, 126g, 200g Allergens: Milk, soy
  • Kinder Surprise, 20g, 60g
Kinder chocolate packets including egg and multi pack

Lindt

Yes, it’s possible to get gluten free Lindt chocolate! It’s because this white chocolate does not contain barley malt extract.

  • Lindt Lindor Strawberries & Cream Bag 125g Edit: As of May 2024 this now has a may contain for barley and gluten.
  • Lindt Lindor White Chocolate Block 100g Allergens: Milk, soy.
  • Lindt Les Grandes White Almond 150g

Lindt Excellence dark chocolate blocks are also gluten free as do not have barley malt extract.

Menz

The Menz Bumbles range of chocolate coated honeycomb and fruit chocolate has gluten free right on the front, woohoo!

  • Bumbles Milk Choc Honeycomb 525g
  • Fruchocs Milk Apricot & Peach 350g
  • Bumbles Dark Choc Honeycomb 150g
  • Bumbles Caramel Honeycomb 150g Allergens: Milk, soy May contain: Peanut, tree nuts.

Nestle

So nice when a chocolate has a gluten free label on the front for all to see.

  • Violet Crumble Bites 180g

NOMO

Big W is the go to for the brand NOMO when in Australia. I don’t think I’ve seen it elsewhere. Only specialty stores and online. Throughout the year they stock their bars and blocks and at Easter they have most of their egg range.

  • Fruit and crunch bar 32g
  • Caramel and Sea Salt bar 38g
  • Creamy Choc bar 38g
  • NOMO Creamy Choc block 85g
  • NOMO hazelnot block

Pico

This vegan, legit dairy free chocolate is made in Switzerland. It’s gluten free by ingredient.

  • Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel 80g Allergens: Nil. May contain: Hazelnut, almond.
  • Pico Mint Crisp Organic Chocolate 80g Allergens: Nil. May contain: Hazelnut, almond.
  • Pico Hazelnut M*lk Organic Chocolate 80g Allergens: Hazelnut. May contain: Almond.

Reeces

Quite possibly my true love after my husband is chocolate and peanut butter together. Milk chocolate isn’t even my go-to (I prefer dark) but I somehow just love Reeces peanut butter cups. Many Reece’s products are labelled gluten free on the back.

  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup 2 Pack 42g Allergens: Peanut, milk, soy.
  • Reese’s Miniatures Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups 150g Allergens: Peanut, milk, soy.
  • Reese’s Nutrageous Chocolate Bar 47g Allergens: Peanut, milk, soy.

Toblerone

This is the first place I’ve seen or heard of the Toblerone bullion bar but it’s hilarious! It is just three Toblerone bars packaged together to make a gold bullion shape, but it’s still amusing. And hey, it’s gluten free by ingredient.

The Allergens: Egg, milk, almond, soy. are the same across all the Toblerone products.

  • Toblerone Milk Chocolate Gift Bag 120g
  • Toblerone Milk Chocolate Bar 50g, 200g
  • Toblerone Milk Chocolate Block 360g
  • Golden Caramel Toblerone Chocolate 360g – This appears to be limited edition for Christmas
  • Orange Twist Toblerone 360g
  • Toblerone Milk Chocolate Bullion Bar 600g

Well Naturally

Well Naturally is sweetened with stevia, making it suitable for those watching their sugar intake. It’s legit gluten free, 0.0g detected on the nutrition panel.

  • Well Naturally No Sugar Added Dark Chocolate 90g Allergens: Soy. May contain: Milk, peanut, tree nuts, sesame.
  • Well Naturally No Sugar Added Milk Chocolate Creamy Milk 90g Allergens: Milk, soy. May contain: Peanut, tree nuts, sesame.
  • Well Naturally No Sugar Added Milk Chocolate Salted Caramel 90g Allergens: Milk, soy. May contain: Peanut, tree nuts, sesame.

Yowie

Ok, I’m going to show my age here but I thought Yowie was still under licence from Cadbury? Seems not, it was sold off! Anyway, these days Yowies are made in the US but don’t let that deter you. They still have a fun toy inside and for anyone born after 2000 you probably have no idea how much cheaper they used to be 😂. Allergens: Milk, soy.


Share this post:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *